Children Traveling

Children Traveling

Unaccompanied Children

Any passenger under the age of 8 must be accompanied by a passenger at least 15 years of age or older at all times. Passengers between the ages of 8 and 14 years of age inclusive, may travel unaccompanied at full adult fare if the following conditions are met in their entirety:

If any of the above conditions are not met, then the passenger must be accompanied by a passenger at least 15 years of age or older in order to travel.

  1. The passenger's trip will begin and end on the same schedule (no transfers).
  2. The passenger's trip will be no longer than five (5) hours in duration.
  3. The passenger's trip (origin to destination) must take place during daylight hours only.
  4. Both the origin and destination stations are full service agencies or company operated facilities.
  5. The destination station will be open at the time the passenger is scheduled to arrive.
  6. Parent, Guardian or Legal Custodian of the child must complete and sign the Unaccompanied Child Form authorizing the child to make the trip and return this to the Customer Service Supervisor on duty. This form specifically names the person authorizing the trip and the person meeting the child at the destination station and the telephone number(s) at which this person may be contacted. It also provides an emergency contact name and telephone number in the event it is needed.
  7. In order for the child to be released at the destination, the person named on the Unaccompanied Child Form as the one meeting the child must have positive picture identification, such as a driver's license or state issued identification card, and provide such to the agent at the destination station. Without such identification, the child will be released into the custody of Child Protective Services or to local law enforcement officials in the destination city.
  8. A fee of $5 will be assessed for each child traveling unaccompanied.

If any of the above conditions are not met, then the passenger must be accompanied by a passenger at least 15 years of age or older in order to travel.

Tickets for unaccompanied children are not sold online.

Exception
In accordance with Illinois state law, NO tickets will be sold to unaccompanied minor children under the age of 17 for interstate or intrastate travel from locations within the state of Illinois.

Fares And Discounts For Children

Please visit Discounts for all available children's fares.

Child Safety Seats

Customers are welcome to use child safety seats on Greyhound buses that have lap and/or shoulder belts/harnesses. However, the seat space must be purchased at the discounted child fare. You should ensure that your child seat has been approved for use in a motor vehicle, and is used in accordance with the manufacturer's instructions.

It is your responsibility to secure the child seat to the bus seat using the lap and/or shoulder belts/harnesses provided. Greyhound does not provide lap and/or shoulder belts/harnesses on all coaches.